Trending News

Dickinson County CEO announces inaugural class

ABILENE -- After a competitive application process, the Dickinson County CEO board of directors is excited to announce its inaugural class for the 2020-2021 school year.

“The selection committee met and reviewed applications through a blind selection process,” said Kyle Becker Dickinson County CEO Board President. “The committee was impressed by the creativity and effort these students put into their applications.”

CEO, which stands for Creating Entrepreneurial Opportunities, is a year-long course designed to utilize partnerships with area businesses to mentor and teach students about starting their own business. The inaugural class will consist of eleven students. In the first semester, the class will first create a business as a group and then in the second semester, each student will also launch their own business.

Students selected include the following.

Abilene USD 435

Joy Clemence
Marissa Perez
Stewart Scott
Jonathan Stanger

Chapman USD 473

Brandy Clevenger
Sophie Jones
Vincentt Mowry

Herington USD 487

Ashton Beames
Sarah Biehler
Arista Demanett

Solomon USD 393

Alex Herbel

“I’m excited to get to know the students and connect them with the Dickinson County business community,” said Cynthia Deters, Dickinson County CEO Facilitator.

The Dickinson County CEO program is funded by donations from the Dickinson County Economic Development Corporation and Community Foundation of Dickinson County, Dickinson County, the City of Abilene and area businesses and individuals.

For more information, visit

Share this news article

[ Error ]
CEO Class Directory